Cocktail Friday: Japanese Yuzu and Ginger Cocktail

I made it a point this week to give you two dazzling cocktail posts! Seeing as how I try my very best to keep my promises, here is this week’s second cocktail post and recipe.
Yuzu
Yesterday, I posted a recipe for a “Killer” Whiskey Cocktail made with calamansi citrus. Today, I am giving you another unique citrus based cocktail using Japanese yuzu. I must confess that I was totally confused when I moved to Japan and bought what I thought was a tiny lemon. After one taste I knew I had something much more special than a lemon.

Yuzu is a sour tasting fruit and I find it quite similar to calamansi. They are about the size of a clementine (or tangerine) and the flesh and rind are yellow. These beautiful little citrus fruits are bursting with fragrance and flavor and can be used in drinks, sauces, savory and sweet dishes.

For this cocktail, I decided to pair the yuzu juice with ginger-mint simple syrup. These flavors help to round out the sourness of the citrus without covering it up too much. I especially love the garnish of ginger root and mint leaves.
IMG_6473
For another great take on a yuzu cocktail, check out this one posted by The White on Rice Couple. Their concoctions-food and otherwise- never fail!

Japanese Yuzu and Ginger Cocktail
Makes 2 cocktails

6 oz. gin or vodka
juice of 1 yuzu fruit (if you can’t find yuzu, you may use lime instead)
2 tablespoons ginger-mint simple syrup (recipe follows)

Combine gin, yuzu juice and simple syrup in a cocktail shaker. Shake shake shake…shake shake shake…shake your booty (I mean shaker.) Pour into a glass filled with ice, garnish with thinly sliced ginger root and mint leaves.

Ginger-mint simple syrup
Makes about 1/3 cup

1/2 cup honey (or sugar)
1/2 cup water
1/4 cup roughly chopped mint leaves
1 inch piece ginger, chopped

Combine all ingredients in a small, heavy saucepan over medium heat. Stir constantly for 3 minutes to dissolve honey in the water. Continue cooking over medium heat for another 5 minutes or until a syrup-like texture is achieved. Pour the syrup into a small glass bowl and allow to cool slightly before use. (I have found that when using a cocktail shaker it is helpful to use the syrup while it is still slightly warm, stirring it with the cocktail ingredients to ensure it is well combined before adding ice.)

9 Responses to “Cocktail Friday: Japanese Yuzu and Ginger Cocktail”


  1. 1 pegasuslegend November 1, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    I am sure missed this one thanks from doing an update….this drink is a winner! Thanks

  2. 3 wasabi prime November 2, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    Fabulous — I love how Japanese food embraces sour and bitter flavors. Makes for such refreshing treats! The ginger-mint simple syrup sounds amazing. How much simple syrup do you make at a time and how long does it keep? I always end up making too much and it gets too syrupy for me to use it longer than a week or two.

    • 4 tokyoterrace November 4, 2009 at 11:39 am

      wasabiprime: It is amazing how simple Japanese flavors are so incredibly unique. The yuzu in this cocktail is just perfect with the ginger-mint simple syrup- perfect combo! Usually I make about 1/3 cup because it doesn’t last as long as I would like. I think I could thin it out a bit with more water to make it last longer, but I haven’t tried yet.

  3. 5 Fuji Mama November 3, 2009 at 12:28 am

    Yuzu is one of my all-time favorite flavors…and it’s impossible to get it here without driving an hour! 😦

  4. 7 Jenn November 4, 2009 at 8:41 am

    You’re making me want to visit you again!

  5. 8 Manami November 5, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    This cocktail sounds delicious! I sometimes make a martini with ginger syrup, rum, and a little pineapple juice, but I think I will try with yuzu now! (why didn’t I think of that? ;))

    http://steinbeckforlovers.wordpress.com


  1. 1 Twitter Trackbacks for Cocktail Friday: Japanese Yuzu and Ginger Cocktail « Tokyo Terrace [tokyoterrace.com] on Topsy.com Trackback on November 3, 2009 at 1:30 am

Leave a comment





Creative Commons License
Tokyo Terrace by Rachael White is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Archives

Foodblogs

Proud member of FoodBlogs